The New Caddy Logo

Happy New Year!

You may have noticed that Caddy has a new logo:

You’ll still see the old logo in various graphics while we transition. For reference, here are some variations on the old logo:

A new logo was needed for several reasons:

1. Technical: the old logo couldn’t be converted to a pure SVG. I’m not a pro graphic designer, but apparently Affinity Designer can’t export shadows, outlines, and layer clipping without rasterizing. This made it impossible for us to display our logo in some places that require pure SVG and was incredibly frustrating.

2. Evolving UI trends and symbol meanings. The green padlock used to be iconic in the legacy days when HTTPS was novel or unique. As you probably know, browsers no longer show green padlocks. Some don’t show a padlock at all. There are several good reasons for this, but the notion of a green padlock meaning a secure connection is quickly becoming obsolete (much like the floppy disk meaning “save”). However, the idea of encryption is far from obsolete. Long live the padlock! Our new logo still keeps the iconic green padlock as an important part of our core values, but with the added symbol of a link going through the padlock from one node to another. In other words, we’ve added context to the padlock of encrypting a connection from peer to peer, which used to stand alone. This helps preserve the meaning through shifting UIs.

3. Portability. The old logo’s color scheme was difficult to use in many settings due to numerous gradients. Notice how, even in the logos above, the gradients had to be different to work with the layouts. Not to mention the vertical layout of the logo involved complexity that is unbecoming of a good logo (IMO).