Gemini on Caddy

I’ve posted before about wanting Caddy to support the Gopher protocol, presumably through a plugin, and that’s something I would still like to see happen.

However, what is now higher priority for me is the Gemini protocol. It’s an experimental effort to write a modern Gopher-like protocol, lighter/simpler than the Web, but including a few more features than Gopher, such as hyperlinks and mandatory TLS encryption.

Because Gopher is just plaintext, it’s easier to write software for and run on ancient/antique computers, but it’s worse for privacy.

Gemini requiring TLS seems it would benefit greatly from Caddy and its effortless TLS certificate renewals etc.

How would one go about writing a plugin for Caddy to support the Gemini protocol? I’m a total noob who hasn’t written a single line of Go yet, so I probably should not spearhead such an effort, but I am interested in seeing if there is some way I could help if someone else is interested.

P.S. if you want a good Gemini client, I’ve been enjoying Castor. It’s a basic graphical client written in Rust, and although it’s rather alpha and unpolished, it’s under active development and already works well on my Mac and Linux computers.

Here’s a more comprehensive list of Gemini-related software.

Worth noting is The Unsinkable Molly Brown, a Gemini server written in Go.

I looked at the gemini link but haven’t dived into the spec – I assume it doesn’t run on HTTP, so you probably wouldn’t write a module that integrates with Caddy’s existing http app.

Basically you’d write a new App module, as per the instructions here:

Take note of the little section called “Apps” on that page: Extending Caddy — Caddy Documentation

(I’m hoping to get around to expanding that one page into a whole section maybe this week or next.)