Caddy Lab / Setup Examples

The intent of this thread is to provide step-by-step examples and helpful notes on setting up the Caddy server for a number of common scenarios.

While the Caddy documentation is excellent, there are also a lot of moving parts required to get Caddy working that are not Caddy, and unless you have a lot of experience you may not know how to put all the pieces together.

Less experienced users may not know what they don’t know, and overlook important points or not understand the significance of items until they encounter a problem. Once they encounter the problem they may not even know what to look for. This can make integrating Caddy (or any other web server for that matter) into a system very frustrating.

My goal is to highlight the steps necessary set up a number of Caddy scenarios and to provide references or at least enough information to know what to search for.

I am brand new to caddy and will be setting up a number of labs that should be of use to small business/home users. As I go though I will document all the steps and include notes / references.

I will make note of problems as I encounter them, and hope that the community will help me solve them, or suggest references so that I can document them. If there are important things that need to be considered (especially security) please let me know so that I can make the write-up more complete. As things come toghether I will periodically refactor the information and edit this post.

RESERVED FOR FUTURE USE

1 Like

Prerequisites

1. Set up a server or VPS and obtain the IP address - For this example I will be using a VPS on the Oracle Cloud with IP Address 132.145.103.78

2. Register Domain(s) and point the A (and/or AAAA) record for your domain(s) at your server.at the server. [Most users will use the control panel at the website where they registered their domain and should be able to find infomation at the registrar’s web site.]