Using internal caddy structures in other golang apps

Hi everybody,

currently i try to develop a app which is unsing the caddy api to establish configuration changes dynamically during runtime from another golang application.

The application should be able to change certain things on a running caddy instance using its api. The app is offering some abstracted rest api with certain other things which are not related to the reverseproxy on a single server.

Maybe also because im quite new to golang i’m having some difficulties regarding the mapping of the dynamic caddy datastructures during runtime.

The idea is to hide certain fields for the user of the original caddy API and offer only a few features and not all fieldsexposed because they will be preconfigured and just internal.

I thougth about just reusing the caddy structures (e.g. caddytls.acmeissuer) in the client code of the golang application and unmashall the data directy in the respective structures. But its not that easy because of a lot of polymorhic which makes the parsing verry complex.

I would like to avoid to “reinvent the wheel” and looking for something which can be reused. I was thinking caddy has to deal with simmilar problems even if it is in reverse order.

As example i would take a look at a polymorphic stucture like JSON Config Structure - Caddy Documentation

A “internal issuer” is quite easy to unmarshal from the received json request but when there is for example “acme issuer” its getting komplex.

What could be the best way to archiving this kind of abstraction of the caddy API?
I want to be able to do all necessary request ( GET / POST / PUT…) to caddy via the standard api.

Example:

1. “GET”, “apps/tls/automation” to caddy.socket
  2. unmarshal request into caddy sturctures
  3. map relevant data into structures represented by the client application api (api schemas of webserver endpoints)