Super-sized Image Build Size for Caddy

1. The problem I’m having:

Trying to build Caddy 2.6.4 using Docker and xcaddy (with the Cloudflare DNS module). The build works but the image is double the size of the version you can customize and download from the website (86MB vs 40MB).

I’m trying to learn how to run servers, use Docker/Podman, and a bunch of other things all at once. If this belongs in a Docker or xcaddy forum, please feel free to delete. I’m still new to all of this. I received great help a couple of weeks ago in this forum so I thought I would start here to see if anyone could help me understand what I’m missing.

2. Error messages and/or full log output:

No error messages. Full Github image build log can be viewed on Github.

3. Caddy version:

v2.6.4 h1:2hwYqiRwk1tf3VruhMpLcYTg+11fCdr8S3jhNAdnPy8=

4. How I installed and ran Caddy:

I used the following multi-stage Dockerfile to keep the file size down (theoretically):

FROM caddy:2.6.4-builder-alpine AS build

RUN XCADDY_SKIP_CLEANUP=0 xcaddy build --with github.com/caddy-dns/cloudflare

FROM caddy:2.6.4-alpine AS final

COPY --from=build /usr/bin/caddy /usr/bin/caddy

a. System environment:

• Linode with Fedora 37 image—all software and security updates installed
  • AMD EPYC 7713 64-Core Processor
  • Podman: v4.4.2 w/ Go v1.19.6 for OS/Arch linux/amd64

b. Command:

I use Github actions to automatically build and tag my Docker images. This is the Github Action to build the image:

name: Docker Image

on:
  push:
    branches:
      - main
      - seed

tags:
      - v*

pull_request:

env:
  IMAGE_NAME: caddy-cf

jobs:
  push:
    runs-on: ubuntu-latest
    permissions:
      packages: write
      contents: read

steps:
      - uses: actions/checkout@v3

- name: Build image
        run: docker build . --file Dockerfile --tag $IMAGE_NAME --label "runnumber=${GITHUB_RUN_ID}"

- name: Log in to registry
        run: echo "${{ secrets.GITHUB_TOKEN }}" | docker login ghcr.io -u $ --password-stdin