Proxy confusion

I’ve been using Caddy successfully for a couple months now but I am a little confused about something. From what I read, “transparent” should pass the client IP to the back end. But that’s not what is happening. Instead my server logs all show the IP of the machine running Caddy instead of the actual Internet host making the request. Am I doing something wrong?

Here’s an example from my caddyfile:
server.mydomain.com {
proxy / 10.0.0.15 {
transparent
}
}

What’s the code on the backend that is reading the client IP?

Actually I’ve noticed the problem in a couple different places. One is on an IBM Domino server where the web logs show only the Caddy IP. I’m also seeing it on a bunch of Joomla websites with Akeeba Admin Tools running. The web application firewall of Akeeba locks out IP addresses that attempt to log in too many times. Unfortunately, it sees the Caddy server instead of the original IP address and that is what gets locked out, which ends up locking EVERYONE out since they all look like that one IP address.

The transparent preset specifies a few headers, notably X-Real-IP and X-Forwarded-For. It’s up to the back end application to look for those headers and use them instead of the IP address of the connecting front end.

Some apps will do this automatically. Sometimes there will be setting somewhere like “Run behind reverse proxy” or “Get IP from proxy headers”. For Akeeba, for example:

Enable IP workarounds