Module with background task

I want Caddy to verify incoming request with jwt authorization header and passing verified claims to backends. Verification process needs to fetch JWKS with scheduled rotation so it’s best to cache and refresh it periodically (i use JWX). I assume this jwt-verification will be an http module.

CMIIW caddy runs http module’s Provision() on every route (backend? ) which has that module enabled.

What is the best way to run refresh task so that there is only one such task? I assume i can create different kind of module and works together with that verification http module but i don’t know where to start. I am new to Go and Caddy, so please be gentle :-). TIA.

What do you mean by route/backend here? If your module is an HTTP handler, then a new instance will be provisioned at every point it’s included in the configuration during configuration load-time. For instance, the module custom_module will be provisioned once:

example.com {
    route {
        custom_module
        respond "Hello, world!"
    }
}

But here it’ll be provisioned twice:

example-1.com {
    route {
        custom_module
        respond "Hello, world!"
    }
}

example-2.com {
    route {
        custom_module
        respond "Hello, world!"
    }
}

Here it will also be provisioned twice:

example-1.com {
    route /route-1* {
        custom_module
        respond "Hello, world!"
    }
    route /route-2* {
        custom_module
        respond "Hello, world!"
    }
}

If you need 1 globally instantiated/provisioned module, there are 2 ways to do it:

• Develop a Caddy app module to represent the global instance, which you can load in your handler at provision-time using either context#App or context#AppIfConfigured to retrieve and use the global instance. Using an app module allows you to utilize the Start and Stop methods for instantiation and finalization of the periodic call.