Macro with args, syntax idea

I’m new to Caddy, so there are likely some big holes in my thinking here, but I wanted to see if there was any interest in re-sparking the conversation around adding syntax support for macros with arguments as mentioned in topic #2852 (or if there is currently an ongoing discussion about something along these lines that I missed, please point me in the right direction).

I understand one of the goals of the Caddyfile syntax is to minimize repetition and I think something along the lines of what I’m proposing below could take that goal to the next level.

My Caddyfile on my dev machine has 15 vhosts all setup identically except for the host and the proxy port. Each vhost is defined as shown below, causing a lot of repetition and making my Caddyfile longer than my old comparable nginx config. As far as I can tell, snippets cannot solve this problem.

project-one.tld {
    proxy / localhost:24611 {
        transparent
    }
    tls self_signed
}
# ... +14 more of these

So what if instead I was able to define a macro for my common vhost setup like this:

# define macro
def @vhost(host, proxy_port) {
    [host] {
        proxy / localhost:[proxy_port] {
            transparent
        }
        [...] # defines where the body of the macro should be inserted when called
    }
}

# call macro like a directive with or without a body

@vhost project-one.tld 24611

@vhost project-2.tld 24612 {
    tls self_signed
}

It ends up feeling like a directive when you use it, but the @ saves you from namespace conflicts and let’s you know to look for that definition above (or from an above import).

Thoughts? As I said at the top of this message, I’m sure there are some pretty big holes in my thinking here, but I just wanted to get the conversation going again

Hi Joseph, welcome!