Isn’t binding ports but not logging error either

(John B Manos) #1

I have been using caddy for two years. I started with the downloadable executable file for Mac, and I have always run Macserver. This set up has worked very well until this past week when I installed the security update 2019-003 for High Sierra

Mac server has always listened on *:80 and *:443
Using bind to the IP4 address has always allowed caddy to bind and listen and serve pages with glee for several vhosts - even with Mac server running on *:443, caddy would bind x.x.x.x:443 and all was well

I start caddy with launchctl plist in the global daemons and have no errors. Just caddy isn’t listening on the IP ports anymore. :face_with_head_bandage:

Caddy is running no problem, but it’s not serving anything and lsof doesn’t show it bound anywhere. System logs don’t have any reports of error. Caddy logs have no error.
If I check on lsof, the * ports are all httpd but no caddy to be seen.

I’m at wits end … if caddy wasn’t allowed to bind x.x.x.x, then there’d be an error in the logs, right?

I’m not sure what other info I can provide… this has worked for years and now it doesn’t but there is no log errors or even hints in the logs. My sysfoo is unable to conjure any other ideas…help!!

(Matt Holt) #2

Is there anything in your Console.app perhaps? Caddy will write a log to its usual process logs if it is running and has permissions to; otherwise it must be somewhere else in the system, like OS permissions or the launch daemon.

1 Like
(John B Manos) #3

Thanks Matt – good idea, but I have the launchd plist route standard out and error to known files in the working folders I have for caddy. All I see is “Activating Privacy Features…” in the console output.