I'd like to reverse proxy to another reverse proxy

1. Output of caddy version:

v2.6.1 h1:EDqo59TyYWhXQnfde93Mmv4FJfYe00dO60zMiEt+pzo=

2. How I run Caddy:

I am running caddy in docker with a very simple docker compose file and a very simple caddyfile, and it works flawlessly. I am a “homelabber” so this is not a production type setup, nor do I bring the needed IT skills to express myself appropriately, as by trade I am a mere physicist.

a. System environment:

debian bullseye, latest docker

c. Service/unit/compose file:

version: "3.7"
services:
  caddy:
    image: caddy:latest
    container_name: caddy
    restart: always
    stdin_open: true
    tty: true
    volumes:
      - ./caddy/container-data:/data
      - ./caddy/container-config:/config
      - /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro
    ports:
      - 80:80
      - 443:443
    entrypoint: /usr/bin/caddy run --adapter caddyfile --config /config/Caddyfile

d. My complete Caddyfile:

web.example.com {
	encode gzip
	reverse_proxy * 192.168.0.20:8080
}

web.beispiel.de {
	encode gzip
	reverse_proxy * 192.168.0.30
}

3. The problem I’m having:

Caddy v2.6.1 works out of the box and it is fantastic. It works well if I reverse proxy to individual services without any issues. e.g. web.example.com.

However, the second domain in this example is not a simple single service, but instead another reverse proxy that needs port 80 and port 443 to generate its own certificates as well. Would there be a way to do this.

That’s a complicated question.

Why do you need your upstream server to manage its own cert? Is it available with a different domain name or something?

Typically you’ll just have Caddy terminate TLS for everything behind it, because that’s what it excels at.