Force download certain mime types, is there a non-template approach?

Caddy v2.6.2, docker-compose, ubuntu 22.04

Hi. I’m new to Caddy. I’m not a developer nor do I have much CSS or html knowledge however the care, thought and logic that’s gone into building Caddy makes it possible even for people like me (!) to use it. Thanks to all involved!

I’m looking for a simple way to force a one-click download of specific mime types from a page with a directory listing. I’m aware that this can be achieved with file_browser and templates (File_server default template force download) but was wondering whether a more simple approach is possible?

The specific page is located at: /srv/domain/source/versions/public

The relevant Caddyfile entry is:

{   
    root * /srv/domain/source
    file_server
    redir /public /public/
        handle_path /public* {
                root * /srv/domain/source/versions/public
                file_server browse
        }
}

Is there some directive or other syntax I can add under handle_path or file_server perhaps (the ‘commands’ below are pseudo versions) which identifies certain mime-types for one-click downloading:

• http_header…[???]
  • mime_type…[]
  • etc?

Any suggestions with (easy) examples would be most appreciated.

I think you’re looking to set the Content-Disposition: attachment header.

You can use the header directive to set this. Pair it with a matcher to make it only apply to certain request paths.

Say you want .pdf files to always get downloaded, this should work:

@pdf path *.pdf
header @pdf Content-Disposition attachment

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.

I put these lines within the handle_path:

redir /public /public/
        handle_path /public* {
                root *  /srv/domain/source/versions/public
                @mp4  /srv/domain/source/versions/public/ *.mp4
                header @mp4 Content-Disposition attachment
                file_server browse
        }