Caddy working only with tls self_signed directive

I’m new to Caddy - am using it bundled with Rocket.chat (opensource Slack-competing chat platform) as part of their Ubuntu Snap deployment model.

Its been working fine until recently updated ubuntu server and Rocket.chat, and my app could no longer be accessed over HTTPS.

I got access to my Rocket.chat app back by applying the tls self-signed directive in Caddy. My Caddyfile looks like this:

http://my-domain.com {
    redir 301 {
        / https://{host}{uri}
    }
}

https://my-domain.com {
tls self_signed
  proxy / localhost:3000 {
    websocket
    transparent
  }
}

This is working, but creates a security error in the browser with each access.

I have checked my firewall and have these configs:

To                         Action      From
--                         ------      ----
80                         ALLOW       Anywhere                  
443                        ALLOW       Anywhere                  
22                         ALLOW       Anywhere                  
3000                       ALLOW       Anywhere                  
80 (v6)                    ALLOW       Anywhere (v6)             
443 (v6)                   ALLOW       Anywhere (v6)             
22 (v6)                    ALLOW       Anywhere (v6)             
3000 (v6)                  ALLOW       Anywhere (v6) 

How can I diagnose what is going wrong?

Hey Richard, welcome.

First step would be to expound on this:

my app could no longer be accessed over HTTPS.

What do you mean by that?

And this:

recently updated ubuntu server and Rocket.chat,

Verify that this is the only thing that changed, and describe exactly what changed.

Hi Matt, thanks for your reply. I hope this additional information can help:

my app could no longer be accessed over HTTPS.

I would get a ‘server not available’ error - ie could not connect to my app at all over https.

recently updated ubuntu server and Rocket.chat

I ran a standard Ubuntu update: