Blank page loads when using as a reverse proxy

Hi,

I’m new to Caddy so appreciate any assistance from the community!

I’m planning on introducing Caddy as a reverse proxy on my docker host for internal services. Before introducing LE and certs I wanted to try just using HTTP to ensure I familiar and simplify any debug.

I’ve got Caddy working successfully with HTTP to a whoami container, but any other services I attempt to configure and reach through the reverse proxy just return a blank browser.

My understanding is that Caddy will route to the containers by using the hostname configured within the caddy network (caddy_net in my deployment).

1. Caddy version (caddy version):

v2.4.6 h1:HGkGICFGvyrodcqOOclHKfvJC0qTU7vny/7FhYp9hNw=

2. How I run Caddy:

a. System environment:

Caddy is running on a Debian 10 VM with docker running.
Docker engine 20.10.12
Docker compose version 1.29.2

c. Service/unit/compose file:

I’m currently using docker-compose to deploy Caddy, whoami and heimdall (which is an example of a container experiencing the blank page loading)

caddy-docker-compose.yml

version: "3.7"
services:

caddy:
    image: caddy
    container_name: caddy
    hostname: caddy
    restart: unless-stopped
    ports:
      - "80:80"
      - "443:443"
    environment:
      MY_DOMAIN
    volumes:
      - ./Caddyfile:/etc/caddy/Caddyfile:ro
      - ./data:/data
      - ./config:/config

networks:
  default:
    external:
      name: $DOCKER_MY_NETWORK

whoami-docker-compose.yml

services:

whoami:
    image: "containous/whoami"
    container_name: "whoami"
    hostname: "whoami"

networks:
  default:
    external:

Heimdall-docker-compose.yml

services:
  heimdall:
    image: lscr.io/linuxserver/heimdall
    container_name: heimdall2
    hostname: heimdall
    environment:
      - PUID=1000
      - PGID=1000
      - TZ=Europe/London
    volumes:
      - /home/matt/docker/heimdall:/config
    ports:
      - 880:80
      - 4443:443
    restart: unless-stopped