Only one connection present if only one backend provided in reverse proxy

1. The problem I’m having:

I’m trying to build a web application with front-end and back-end separation using k8s, and I am planning to use Caddy as its reverse proxy.

The back-end Flask application has been deployed with backups using a k8s deployment and exposed by a k8s service.
I use wireshark to capture the traffic. From my observation, Caddy uses a long-lived connection to handle all requests to the back-end, regardless of who initiates the request. In this way, all requests will be routed via the long-lived connection to a single pod, and load balancing will not be performed. I think Caddy should initiate a connection to the back-end for each connection from the client, so that Kubernetes can perform load balancing.

I’m new in caddy, and I’m wondering if there is any configuration can meet my requirement or if there’s an issue with my current configuration

2. Error messages and/or full log output:

no error message here

3. Caddy version:

i use docker image caddy:alpine

/srv # caddy version
v2.6.4 h1:2hwYqiRwk1tf3VruhMpLcYTg+11fCdr8S3jhNAdnPy8=

4. How I installed and ran Caddy:

a. System environment:

ubuntu22.04 vps
using kind to deploy k8s
kind version 0.17.0

b. Command:

Dockerfile

FROM caddy:alpine

COPY ./Caddyfile /etc/caddy/Caddyfile
RUN echo "hello" > /srv/index.html

c. Service/unit/compose file:

caddy-deployment.yaml

apiVersion: apps/v1
kind: Deployment
metadata:
  name: nginx-deployment
  labels:
    app: nginx
spec:
  replicas: 1
  selector:
    matchLabels:
      app: caddy
  template:
    metadata:
      labels:
        app: caddy
    spec:
      containers:
      - name: caddy
        image: docker.io/library/front:v1
        imagePullPolicy: IfNotPresent
        ports:
        - containerPort: 80

flask-app-service.yaml

apiVersion: v1
kind: Service
metadata:
  name: flaskapp
spec:
  selector:
    app: flask-app
  ports:
  - name: flask-port