Noob reverse proxy questions

Hello,

First and foremost apologies if this question has been answered already but I don’t seem to find it anywhere.

Currently I have a setup at home as follows:

Router → KVM → VM (With nextcloud/Collabora) and both are working perfectly. However, I’ve realised that I want to run more web apps facing the internet, and I’m at the conundrum of being stuck, and more confused, the more I read about it. Which brought me to reverse proxies and this forum.

I have read the http.proxy entry in the wiki but still lost as well. Let’s see if trying to explain someone can point me in the right direction. Please bear in mind I’m pretty new to web servers. My idea is as below:

Router → KVM (future proxy) → VM1 (nextcloud/collabora), VM2, Docker, etc…

I wouldn’t like to have to start everything from scratch if possible. I have Caddy now up and running in the KVM host. Ready to do a caddyfile.conf there with:

nexclout.example.com{
proxy /var/www/html/nextcloud 192.168.0.42:80 {
transparent
websocket
}
}

And my current nextcloud caddyfile looks like this:

nextcloud.example.com {

root   /var/www/html/nextcloud

fastcgi / 127.0.0.1:9000 php {
        env PATH /bin
}

header / {
         Referrer-Policy                   no-referrer
         Strict-Transport-Security         "max-age=31536000;"
}

# checks for images
rewrite {
        ext .svg .gif .png .html .ttf .woff .ico .jpg .jpeg
        r ^/index.php/(.+)$
        to /{1} /index.php?{1}
}

rewrite {
        r ^/index.php/.*$
        to /index.php?{query}
}

# client support (e.g. os x calendar / contacts)
redir /.well-known/carddav /remote.php/carddav 301
redir /.well-known/caldav /remote.php/caldav 301

# remove trailing / as it causes errors with php-fpm
rewrite {
        r ^/remote.php/(webdav|caldav|carddav|dav)(\/?)(\/?)$
        to /remote.php/{1}

rewrite {
r ^/remote.php/(webdav|caldav|carddav|dav)/(.+?)(/?)(/?)$
to /remote.php/{1}/{2}
}

rewrite {