My overall experience with Caddy + Some ideas

Hi there!

I was an avid Apache user for 5 years, but I’ve been using Caddy for a couple of months now, and I’m overall satisfied! I’m not looking back ever since :slight_smile:
I love how easy it is to set-up, understand and have TLS certificates working (having Apache+Let’s Encrypt was a real hassle). I’ve had a very good experience, and I would like to thank Matt Holt for starting the project and the +100 contributors on GitHub: you are awesome, guys!
I’m starting to learn Go because of it, and I’ll be contributing soon (I hope ;)).

But there are some features missing for me, that I would consider to be core:

• Dynamic loading of Caddyfiles per domain.
    Wouldn’t be nice if, instead having to edit a single Caddyfile, Caddy loaded dynamically Caddyfiles “on-demand”? (not necessary to be on-demand, it could be cached).
    Imagine that you have 3 folders: domain1.com, domain2.com and domain3.com, each one of those has its own Caddyfile. You could add new domains without having to restart/reload the Caddy service at all, and get the Let’s Encrypt certificate with the new DNS-challenge feature deployed in the 0.9 release.

• Background processing of new certificates
    If you don’t like the idea above (I can understand why), let me contribute with another idea. Right now, service caddy restart just loops over every domain and if there is a new domain, it has to retrieve the Let’s Encrypt certificate (going through all the ACME thing), and then it deploys the server… meanwhile having the rest of the domains halted, waiting for the new one to finish. (this is what I see from the SSH terminal, don’t know if this is how it actually works). It would be nice if it used the DNS-challenge to get the new domains, without interrupting the other domains, or at least, having a CLI option.

• CLI option to not halt on invalid domain