Feature request - reconsider easier wildcard certificates in Caddyfile?

3 years have passed since this topic came up. I am coming from selfhosted world, and where caddy is often enough used for reverse proxy.

I was reminded of this topic when a post came up about being able to see all declared subdomains for any domain. dnsdumpster.com

Wildcard would solve this bit of exposure, but its so damn ugly in the config. To be forced from get-go one layer deeper and have extra declarations :confused:
Guides/tutorials with this would also be less clean or harder to write/understood.

My wish would be declaration in global option and to apply to naked/root domain and all its subdomains. I think overwhelming majority of people dont have need to babysit root domain separately, so simpler it is - better. But I have limited hands on experience.

Just thought I ask, as maybe with more work put in to caddy in recent years, some easier way to make this happen came to light maybe.

That pattern is the exact way it must be for Auto HTTPS to correctly apply. Please consider the JSON output of a Caddyfile with that pattern (run caddy adapt --pretty).

The rules for Auto HTTPS is that it reads top-level routes, looking for routes with host matchers. Those hosts are then automatically considered to create any relevant TLS automation policies if there arenā€™t already automation policies for those hostnames (subjects) already (there could already be some via tls config in the Caddyfile).

Because of that rule, if more specific sites are defined (i.e. a site foo.example.com) while a wildcard covering it also exists as a site (i.e. *.example.com) then Auto HTTPS will create an automation policy for foo.example.com as well because thereā€™s nothing that prevents it from considering more-specific sites for automation.