Caddy 404 - Tearing out my hair

Hi

Firstly I apologise if this has been asked before - I have searched the focums but cannot find an answer.

I am VERY new to Caddy and have limited experience with coding so I am feeling my way through this.

I have Ombi set up to run though Docker on my Mac Mini and want to access it remotely.

I have my domain ombi.ellner.co.uk pointing to the IP of my mac and have caddy running with the below caddyfile.

ombi.ellner.co.uk {
proxy / 192.168.0.84:32768/
}

All I get is “404 Site ombi.ellner.co.uk is not served on this interface”

Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Thank you!

I also get the same result with:

www.ellner.co.uk {
proxy /ombi 192.168.0.84:32768/
}

Hi @SACEll,

Your Caddyfile definitely should be serving that site.

Can you let us know what command you use to run Caddy, and what its output is when you start it? It should print out a list of the sites it’s configured to serve.

Hi @Whitestrake

Thanks for the help!

I just type caddy in Terminal and get the below:

Plex-Server:~ rossellner$ caddy
Activating privacy features… done.
2018/07/04 22:21:27 listen tcp :2015: bind: address already in use
Plex-Server:~ rossellner$

To set it up originally I entered:

sudo caddy -host www.ellner.co.uk

and it returned http://www.ellner.co.uk & https://www.ellner.co.uk but I have not seen that in a while.

No worries. I can see there’s likely a few problems.

When Caddy gives you an error and returns to the prompt, that means it actually exited straight away (for the reason given). In this case, it tried to bind port 2015 and failed. At a guess, you’ve got another instance of Caddy still running on the system, configured with an old Caddyfile, hence the “Site not served” errors.