Bypass LetsEncrypt for Subdomain

Hi all,

I’m a web/networking noob so forgive me in advance for any murdering of terms or standards I do, most of my expertise is servers and endpoints etc.

I host a ton of homelab stuff that i make internet accessible to learn as much as I can about the end-to-end of it all. I have just enabled and configured IPv6 addressing at home so I have some more public addresses but to access my lab stuff from work (IPv4 only) I need to dual stack (I think I’m using the term right), which means keeping the reverse proxy active to proxy the v4 requests through the v4 interfaces.

I have an RDS farm which, long story short, I need to use my proper cert for. It all works on v6 but via Caddy functionality breaks because its using the LetsEncrypt cert and its expecting my signed cert.

Is there a way to tell caddy to just forward requests for a subdomain without attaching a LetsEncrypt cert to it? I’ve tried the tls tag but that only works for port 80, when the RDS servers redirect to 443 the client gets a 404 back (because according to Caddy it doesn’t exist).

I’m assuming I could get Caddy to use my signed cert for that one subdomain but I still dont know how the double encryption etc affects it.

If you need any more info let me know.

Hi @Runear, welcome to the Caddy community!

If you can pull the cert and key from your RDS farm and supply it to Caddy, it can present that to your clients. The double encryption shouldn’t be a problem, you’ll just have to make sure that Caddy trusts the RDS farm’s certificate for valid HTTPS all the way through. Caddy effectively acts as a (authorized) man in the middle between the RDS farm and the client.

You’ll want to use the syntax tls cert key for this subdomain.

https://caddyserver.com/docs/tls

Feel free to post the Caddyfile you’re using if you need someone to take a look.

Alright cool, I’ll give that a shot.