# List all bad User-Agents:
header User-Agent STRING1*
header User-Agent STRING2*

blockedreferers.conf

# List all bad Referrers:
header Referer *STRING3
header Referer *STRING4

3. The problem I’m having:

I want to build lists of known bad actor attributes and if a request matches ANY of the many configured tests I’ll rewrite and 403 as above.

I can build and format the conf file content from lists available externally.

But as a newbie I’m confused. As I understand it, all these tests will be AND’d and not OR’d… unless each test is defined in its own match set.

Am I right? Each conf file could contain a few hundred tests…

Is the V2 matcher design intended for this sort of use or should I go ahead and write a custom matcher to work on bulk configuration like this?

Maybe as a newbie I just missed the right feature to use :laughing:

4. Error messages and/or full log output:

5. What I already tried:

6. Links to relevant resources:

Okay, well I was writing out a somewhat deep explanation, then I realized half way through that it doesn’t work how I thought it, nor how @matt thought he implemented it (which was nearly a year ago now, when he first implemented the matchers).

So turns out that right now, in the Caddyfile adapter, the last matcher for a specific header field in a named matcher will win. It doesn’t allow for matching on multiple specific header values.

The JSON config is fully capable of making this work though, so I’d call this a bug that should be fixed in the Caddyfile adapter (edit: good news, it’s super easy, I’ll have a PR ready soon).

But I’ll leave what I wrote below, because I think it’s still useful, albeit incomplete… don’t feel like deleting it :cry:

I agree, it’s not perfectly clear in the documentation:

So, if you use multiple matchers of the same type (i.e. header or path in your case) in a named matcher, then it will trigger merging logic of that matcher.